Seema Mustafa elected president in first polls to Editors Guild

By: Express News Service | New Delhi |

October 18, 2020 2:25:18 am

Seema Mustafa (Source: Twitter/@seemamustafa)

For the first time since it was founded in 1978, the Editors Guild of India chose its three top office-bearers through elections, with Seema Mustafa, editor of The Citizen, elected its president.

In the past, presidents, general secretaries and treasurers of the guild have been appointed through consensus.

Sanjay Kapoor, editor of Hard News was elected general secretary, and Caravan magazine editor Anant Nath took over as the guild’s treasurer.

While elections were held for the posts of president and general secretary on Friday, Nath was elected unopposed.

With 87 votes, Mustafa beat M D Nalapat, editorial director of The Sunday Guardian, who received 51 votes.

Kapoor defeated ANI editor Smita Prakash 90 to 50.

Mustafa will succeed Shekhar Gupta, editor-in-chief of The Print, while Kapoor and Nath will take over from A K Bhattacharya, editorial director of Business Standard, and Sheela Bhatt, contributing editor of, respectively, the guild said in a statement.

📣 The Indian Express is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel (@indianexpress) and stay updated with the latest headlines

For all the latest India News, download Indian Express App.

© The Indian Express (P) Ltd

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Next Post

Socially-distanced events, contactless stays and the new rules of hospitality

Sat Oct 17 , 2020
While all these changes might seem cosmetic for guests, the pandemic has meant an entire paradigm change for the hotel management and staff. The difference between a pre-Covid world and a post-one is felt right as we drive into the Taj Mahal Hotel in the centre of New Delhi. There […]